Rapoport, MD, Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

Basil Rapoport, MD, endocrinologist, professor of Medicine and co-director of the Thyroid Autoimmunity Lab, is the recipient of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Basil Rapoport, MD

The award was presented by Paul Noble, MD, professor and chair of the Department of Medicine and director of the Women's Guild Lung Institute, during the June 13 commencement of the Graduate Programs in Biomedical and Translational Sciences.

"This recognition is richly deserved," Noble said to the audience in Harvey Morse Auditorium. "The Rapoport legacy is one of seminal contributions to thyroid pathophysiology. Over the course of 40 years, he has harnessed the power of molecular biology to expand the diagnonis and treatment of thyroid disease."

Rapoport, who received his medical degree from the University of Edinburgh, has made significant contributions in the field of thyroid pathophysiology throughout his 40-year career, including while working for the Cedars-Sinai departments of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

"I am grateful for the support I have received from Cedars-Sinai for 20 years, as well as for contributions by all the people that worked with us over many years," said Rapoport, extending special thanks to his scientific and life partner Sandra McLachlan, PhD.

During the ceremony, Noble detailed the wide influence of Rapoport’s research, which contributed to a deeper understanding of thyroid diseases, including Graves’ disease, hyperthyroidism and thyroid carcinoma.

"Given that roughly 12 percent of Americans suffer from some form of thyroid disease—200 million people worldwide—we know an enormous number of people are living longer and more productive, satisfying lives as a direct result of Dr. Rapoport’s insights and innovations," Noble said.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the latest in a number of awards Rapoport has received throughout his career. Others include the Stanbury Pathophysiology Award and Gold Medal, the NIH Research Career Development Award and the Sidney H. Ingbar Distinguished Lectureship Award.

Rapoport continues to work and currently serves as a member of Thyroid’s editorial board.